Answering The Call

Our 150 professionally trained volunteers staff BCCRS ambulances, medic units, and heavy rescue squad trucks on regularly scheduled night and weekend duties. Some volunteers also staff units during the weekdays. In addition, these volunteers make up the committees, such as the EMS policy committee, the PR committee, the membership committee, etc. that help run BCCRS.
Our volunteers also include administrative personnel who help with development and fundraising.During the weekdays when most volunteers are at work or school, BCCRS employs non-county employed EMTs, paramedics, and firefighters to staff units and run calls.

PRESIDENT – Kenneth Holden

Ken Holden joined BCCRS as a teenager in 1972. Before being elected Vice President, Ken served as Secretary for almost 20 years. On the operational side, Ken achieved the rank of Deputy Chief and continues running calls at the Squad. In addition, Ken was President of the Montgomery County Volunteer Fire Rescue from 2003-2004.

During the day, Ken is the owner of Ken’s Art & Frame Shop in Frederick, MD. His hobbies include tennis, softball, swimming, water skiing, and yard work. His long-term goal is to retire in the Florida Keys!



TREASURER –James Hamilton

SECRETARY – Ryan Kilboy

Alex Braun

Peter Kratz                                                   

Ed Levien                                              

Tom Ryan

Devee Schoenberg                                          

Jason Gill

CHIEF Ned Sherburne (EX-OFFICIO)

Fire/Rescue Chief Edward G. (Ned) Sherburne has been a member of the Bethesda-Chevy Chase Rescue Squad since 1978. He has led the predominantly volunteer department for 12 years. Chief Sherburne serves in the Montgomery County Fire/Rescue command structure to the Duty Operations Chief level, maintains certification as a Maryland/National Registry EMT-Paramedic and is an active MCFRS command officer. Chief Sherburne is also experienced in medical support of law enforcement operations, emergency preparedness and continuity planning.

Chief Sherburne commands a dedicated group of volunteer officers who manage the 150 active volunteer members.


Chief, BCCRS:           Ned Sherburne

Deputy Chief:             Jim Resnick

Assistant Chief:          Jason Gill


1st Captain:      Aaron Webster

2nd Captain:     Leo Ruiz

3rd Captain:      Keith Stakes

4th Captain:      Dean Ho

5th Captain:      Howie Weinstein

1st Lieutenant:  Brian Starin

2nd Lieutenant: Christopher Finelli

3rd Lieutenant: Colin Brody

4th Lieutenant:  Rachel Singley

1st Sergeant:    Geoff Firestone

2nd Sergeant:   Emily Rumbarger

3rd Sergeant:   Chris Williams

4th Sergeant:    Jack O’Neil


Marc Plante

Rebecca Plante

Martha Seeligson

Steven Friedman

Schoenberg Devee

Joan Keller

Roger Hahn

Dhananjay Anand